How Valorant Ranking System Works

How Valorant Ranking System Works - Ranking Explained

Are you new to Valorant video game and wondering how the Valorant ranking system works? If so, then keep reading this blog post to find the answer to all your queries. 

If you\’ve ever considered joining a competitive FPS multiplayer, now\’s a perfect time. Valorant is now offering ranked matches for a 5 vs 5 game mode. With an already extensive collection of guns and figures, it\’s changed from a traditional shooter game to an FPS MOBA. 


This FPS shooter game has everything a gamer could want. But with Valorant, gamers have the opportunity to use a competitive ranked mode to test their skills and climb the ladder to meet their friends at the top. They\’ll also have access to a host of other features, like control point maps, custom games, a reward system, voice chat, and much more.

Valorant’s competitive ranked mode is the perfect place to exercise your competitive side. With five-on-five battles and each player’s own unique arsenal of weapons, it\’s a game that will force you to change up your playstyle and look at the battlefield from a different perspective.

Before you jump into the next competitive match, it\’s vital that you know what to do. Here\’s a quick rundown of all things ranking in Valorant. From learning about rank and act progressions to understanding your rank thresholds, it\’s easier to advance when you know the ins and outs of Valorant\’s ranking system.

Synopsis of the Valorant Ranking System

Riot Games’ Valorant has a rank system that is both complex and essential. Although ranked games are the most competitive and important games you can play, players are often confused by the ranking system’s complexities and nuances. In this post, we will break down the ranking system and explain how Valorant’s MMR works.

In Valorant, you have to complete 10 unranked matches to unlock the competitive mode for the game. The very first time this new mode was introduced, players only had to play 20 unranked games before they were able to team up with friends from around the world and show off their skills in ranked matches.

Once you\’ve completed ten unrated matches (0-10), you can queue for placement matches — a series of five games designed to give your account an entry point onto the Valorant ranking system. You\’ll have a better grasp of your skill level (and therefore know what\’s most appropriate for you to queue for) if you do that before picking a tier to play in.

Besides, before you start a placement match cycle, don’t worry about whether you win or lose — the game takes both performance and win/loss ratio into account when determining your rank. 10 of your previous unrated wins also contribute to your current rank in order to finalize your Valorant ranks.

Valorant Ranks and Tiers


The Valorant ranking system is based on the principle of customized progression for each player. Each member of the team will be able to earn certain rewards, services, and valuables by participating in matches. Players will have a gamerscore, which will be leveled up as they progress through the games and achieve certain milestones.

Moreover, the Valorant ranking system is divided into eight ranks or divisions that are mentioned next in bullets. These groupings determine the amount of experience that you earn when challenging competitors — the experience you can use to improve your skills and abilities.

  1. Iron
  2. Bronze
  3. Silver
  4. Gold
  5. Platinum
  6. Diamond
  7. Immortal
  8. Radiant (previously called “Valorant”)

To advance to the next rank, you must obtain sub-ranks. There are three sub-ranks in the first six ranks and one sub-rank each in the next two ranks. In total, there are 20 ranks in Valorant, excluding Unranked.

The more you play, the higher you climb: being placed in a lower-ranking doesn\’t mean that you\’ll stay there. Based on your performance during placement matches, you can be placed in a higher ranking and tier, which is determined by your highest achieved MMR.

How the Valorant Ranking System Works – Rankings Explained

The valorant ranking system is a bit of a mystery to many players. In this article, we\’ll take a look at how the system works and explain the different rankings. The first thing to understand is that there are two types of ranking: matchmaking rank (MMR) and competitive rank (CR).

MMR is the ranking that is used in the game\’s matchmaking system to find opponents of similar skill levels. On the other hand, CR is the ranking that is used in the game\’s competitive mode to find opponents of similar skill levels.

MMR is calculated using a number of factors, including wins and losses, kill/death ratio, and playing time. The algorithm that calculates MMR is constantly being updated and tweaked by Riot Games, so it\’s not possible to say exactly how it works. However, we do know that your MMR will go up if you win games and go down if you lose games.

There are five MMR tiers: unranked, bronze, silver, gold, and platinum. The higher your MMR, the better your chances of being matched with players of similar skill levels. If you\’re in the gold tier, you\’ll be matched with players who are in similar or lower tiers.

Ranking Types

There are a few different types of rankings in Valorant. The first is your Overall ranking, which is your global rank and is determined by your matchmaking rating (MMR). This is the number that is used to determine who you will be matched up with within games.

The second type of ranking is your Radiant ranking. This is specific to the Unrated mode and is separate from your Overall ranking. Your Radiant ranking is determined by the number of wins and losses you have in Unrated games.

The third type of ranking is your Legend rank. This is specific to the Competitive mode and is also separate from your Overall ranking. Your Legend rank is determined by the number of wins and losses you have in Competitive games.

What Factors are Included in Rank Calculations

There are a few factors that are considered when calculating ranks in Valorant. These include:

  • Number of games played
  • Player\’s win/loss record
  • The average number of kills per game
  • Average number of kills per round
  • The average number of deaths per game
  • Average number of deaths per round
  • The average number of assists per game
  • Average number of assists per round
  • Win/loss ratio

See also: Top 6 Best Controller For Rocket League in 2022


In conclusion, the Valorant ranking system is designed to be simple and easy to understand. It consists of eight ranks, which are each divided into different sub-ranks. The lower your rank, the more points you need to win games and advance to the next rank.

Plus, the Valorant ranking system is a great way for players of all skill levels to compete against each other and see who is the best in the game.

We are so excited to read your thoughts on this article because we can\’t wait anymore. Please jump into the conversation in a few seconds and tell us what you think of it. Thank you all in advance.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *